Throwback Thursday: Monkey Island

escape-from-monkey-island-image339637

Offt, it’s been a wee while since I’ve put one of these up…sorry! Yesterday I was checking out the free games given out every month by PS Plus, and to my delight January’s game is Day of the Tentacle. I missed this point and click adventure game the first time around, but I adored Lucas Art’s other adventure franchise, Monkey Island. If you have PS Plus I recommend you play the free remaster of Day of the Tentacle, whether you played it first time or not. It’s not too long (you can complete it in one sitting) and it’s a fantastic game.

Monkey Island. The Monkey Island games are probably some of my favourite games ever, especially The Curse of Monkey Island and Escape from Monkey Island. I cannot express my delight when I saw Guybrush appear in Uncharted 4. Point and click adventure games were my favourite genre when I was younger, but Guybrush Threepwood, Mighty Pirate, really rose to the top of the pile. The irreverent humour, the ridiculous puzzle solutions, the in-jokes and the memorable characters all ensured that this game has stayed fresh and constant in my mind.

murray1

And speaking of characters, I could not write about my love of Monkey Island without mentioning  my favourite regular, Murray the Evil Skull. I even made a fan site with my dad all about Murray. There is just something very funny to me about a character that wishes to be the pure embodiment of evil and cause chaos, but can’t due to his lack of body. Honestly, Monkey Island is worth playing for Murray who pops up in the most unexpected of places throughout Guybrush’s adventures.

murray2

One of the highlights of all the Lucas Arts games, especially Monkey Island, is the unusual solutions to solving puzzles. While I may not be an expert on them, and still have to consult a guide now and then when I get stuck, they do require a specific, out-the-box style of thinking. And I’m thankful I played these games when I was younger as they’ve given me some creative problem solving skills which come in handy in the most unexpected of places.

So here’s to Monkey Island. I hope that one day Guybrush gets another chance to shine, but if not, we always have the classics.

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Monkey Island

Leave a Reply

