Monday Swatch

Being off work for these last few weeks has meant that I’ve lost all meaning of time. I thought today was Sunday and have only just released my mistake. So not only is Sunday Swatch late, but I have to be back at work one day earlier than I though. Feelsbadman.

In this Monday Swatch I’ve collected so of the best end of year wrap ups. While that might be kind of lazy, let’s be real – that’s pretty much what all publications have been putting out over December so whatever.

Critical Distance has a lengthy list of the articles they felt defined 2016. There’s loads here I missed first time around, so I’m looking forward to digging in. And even if you have been avidly following games writing over last year, it’s interesting to see their curation of the year in games.

The Giant Bombcast spent 5 whole days deliberating their Game of the Year List. Even if you’re GotY-ed out, this is a really in depth look at the highlights (and lowlights) of 2016. With over 13 hours of listening, you can be sure they don’t half arse the process. I really enjoy the Bombcast, but I particularly liked being able to hear the arguments for and against every game nominated. And in the spirit of Gaint Bomb they have interesting categories including Please Stop and Best Fake Computer.

Waypoint probably takes the prize of best end of year content. Themed as a High School AU, Waypoint created a wide ranging collection of articles which include more serious reflections to the frivolous. Posts are grouped into Senior Superlatives, Extracurricular, The Dean’s List, Incoming Class and Fanfics. Some sections of the internet have given them flak for the inclusion of fanfics but it fits with the High School theme, it’s fun and cute, and it encompasses most of the games of 2016. And really, whether you like it or not, fanfic and fan art is a huge part of game culture – it always has been and it always will be, and I applaud Waypoint for acknowledging it.

Looking at games from a scholarly perspective, History Respawned looks over 2016’s offering and assesses them from a historical point of view. As a history major, I adore this combination of two of my passions, but even for the non-academic, there’s a lot to gain here, without being bogged under.

Kotaku obviously also has a range of 2016 retrospective content. My personal favourites, are the more irreverent ones such as The Year in Video Game Paintings and The Year in Patch Notes.

Self-plug: I did my own personal round up of my posts here.

That’s it from me – I am almost officially done with 2016. Once I finish the 2nd part of my Game Conversations of the Year 2016 I will be. So don’t worry, it’s not long until we never have to speak of those accursed 12 months again.

Leave a Reply

